How to Disable Box's Terms of Service

Box Terms of Service (ToS)

All Box enterprise accounts have the ability to prompt their users to accept the Terms of Service (ToS) before logging in for the very first time.

During a migration, the ToS is problematic because it will block any data upload into a Box user until they have accepted the ToS.

Luckily, a Box administrator can disable the ToS temporarily so that a migration can take place without all users logging in and accepting the ToS.

  1. Visit the Box Admin Console.
  2. Click Enterprise Settings via the gear icon on the right-hand side of the menu.

  3. Select Custom Setup

  4. At the bottom of Custom Setup, disable the Terms of Service options.

  5. Click Save.

The Terms of Service may be re-enabled after your migration.

Please note that enabling the ToS will prompt all users, whether they agreed to the ToS already or not, to agree to the new ToS.