What if a user has only shared data?

If a user has only shared data, and absolutely no owned data, we will transfer 0 files from source to destination for that particular user.

Definitions

  • Shared Data: Files and folders that are not owned by the user. When permissions are applied in the destination after transferring, files will be shared out again based on the user mapping you provide (depending on the support for it with your Connector pairing).
  • Owned Data: Files and folders that are owned by the user. Data almost always needs to have an owner within your organization, and this is the only data that we actually transfer.
  • Ownership: Ownership is typically determined by who created the file, but in some cases can be dependent on who the owner or creator of the parent (upper, or top level) folder is.

Unfortunately, we can't tell you how much data a user has until they have been transferred and you will still be billed on a per user basis. All user data is pooled for your use, so if a user in your organization owns no data then you'll have another 20GB to use with the others being migrated.

It's a good idea to do your homework! Some services, like Box, have a report you can generate from the Admin dashboard. In other cases, you may need to contact the related support staff in your source service to ascertain what users own what data. Information like this will also help you figure out your total migration costs.